Data, checked 2 October 2026
Skip permit fees by council
A skip permit costs a median of £61 across the 117 UK councils whose own pages give a fee and a permit length, checked on 2 October 2026. 73 of 208 councils accept applications only from a skip company registered with them, so the skip firm applies, not you.
| Council | Nation | Fee | Permit length | Who applies | Fee year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aberdeen City Council | Scotland | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Aberdeenshire Council | Scotland | £39.87 | 7 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| Angus Council | Scotland | £126 | 30 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| Argyll and Bute Council | Scotland | £39 | not stated | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| Barnsley Council | England | £39 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Bath and North East Somerset Council | England | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Bedford Borough Council | England | £53.95 | 21 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Birmingham City Council | England | £42 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council | England | £105 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Blackpool Council | England | £50 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council | Wales | £57.40 | 7 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Bolton Council | England | £12.90 | 7 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council | England | £78 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Bracknell Forest Council | England | £60 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Bridgend County Borough Council | Wales | £42.61 | 30 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Brighton and Hove City Council | England | £48.40 | 7 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Bristol City Council | England | £90 | not stated | Skip company only | not stated |
| Buckinghamshire Council | England | £189.63 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Bury Council | England | £30 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Caerphilly County Borough Council | Wales | £28.39 | not stated | Registered skip company only | 2025/26 |
| Calderdale Council | England | £32.50 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Cambridgeshire County Council | England | £64 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Cardiff Council | Wales | not published | not stated | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Carmarthenshire County Council | Wales | £75 | 30 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Central Bedfordshire Council | England | £65.10 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Ceredigion County Council | Wales | £102 | 28 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Cheshire East Council | England | £47 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Cheshire West and Chester Council | England | £110 | 30 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council | England | £48 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| City of Doncaster Council | England | £28.50 | not stated | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| City of Edinburgh Council | Scotland | £42 | 7 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| City of London (Corporation of London) | England | not published | not stated | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| City of Wolverhampton Council | England | £62.50 | not stated | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| City of York Council | England | £76 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Clackmannanshire Council | Scotland | £32 | 7 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| Comhairle nan Eilean Siar | Scotland | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Conwy County Borough Council | Wales | £71.90 | 28 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Cornwall Council | England | £115 | not stated | Skip company only | not stated |
| Council of the Isles of Scilly | England | £44 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Coventry City Council | England | £71 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Cumberland Council | England | £44.90 | not stated | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Cyngor Gwynedd (Gwynedd Council) | Wales | £74 | 30 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Darlington Borough Council | England | £27 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Denbighshire County Council | Wales | £38.18 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Department for Infrastructure (DfI) Roads, Northern Ireland | Northern Ireland | not published | not stated | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| Derby City Council | England | £60 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Derbyshire County Council | England | £60 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Devon County Council | England | £110.50 | 28 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Dorset Council | England | £93 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Dudley Council | England | £50 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Dumfries and Galloway Council | Scotland | £122.10 | not stated | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Dundee City Council | Scotland | £205 | 30 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| Durham County Council | England | £33 | 14 days | Unknown | not stated |
| East Ayrshire Council | Scotland | £62 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| East Dunbartonshire Council | Scotland | £52 | 7 days | Hirer or company | not stated |
| East Lothian Council | Scotland | £62 | 28 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| East Renfrewshire Council | Scotland | £98 | 28 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| East Riding of Yorkshire Council | England | £39 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| East Sussex County Council | England | £68 | 14 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Essex County Council | England | £107.78 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2025/26 |
| Falkirk Council | Scotland | £50.10 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Fife Council | Scotland | £26 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Flintshire County Council | Wales | £60 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Gateshead Council | England | £40 | 28 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Glasgow City Council | Scotland | £55 | 7 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Gloucestershire County Council | England | £90 | 28 days | Hirer or company | 2025/26 |
| Halton Borough Council | England | £52 | 14 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Hampshire County Council | England | £78.80 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Hartlepool Borough Council | England | £15 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Herefordshire Council | England | £140.50 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Hertfordshire County Council | England | £54 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Highland Council | Scotland | £122 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Hull City Council | England | £36 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Inverclyde Council | Scotland | £36.55 | 7 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Isle of Anglesey County Council | Wales | £31 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Isle of Wight Council | England | £44 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Kent County Council | England | £45 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Kirklees Council | England | £32 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Knowsley Council | England | £25 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Lancashire County Council | England | £42 | 28 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Leeds City Council | England | £33.80 | not stated | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Leicester City Council | England | £96.50 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Leicestershire County Council | England | £45 | 7 days | Skip company only | 2024/25 |
| Lincolnshire County Council | England | £84 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Liverpool City Council | England | £44 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Barking and Dagenham | England | £73.70 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Barnet | England | £45.18 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Bexley | England | £65 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Brent | England | £72.80 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Bromley | England | £50 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Camden | England | £71.50 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Croydon | England | £78 | not stated | Skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Ealing | England | £50 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Enfield | England | £111 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Hackney | England | £150 | 28 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham | England | £165 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Haringey | England | £125 | 14 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Harrow | England | £82.30 | 14 days | Hirer or company | not stated |
| London Borough of Havering | England | £162 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Hillingdon | England | £90 | not stated | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Hounslow | England | £122.21 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Islington | England | £127 | 30 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Lambeth | England | £80 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Lewisham | England | £88 | 30 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Merton | England | £84 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Newham | England | £77 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Redbridge | England | £260 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Richmond upon Thames | England | £75.50 | 21 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Southwark | England | £110.25 | 30 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Sutton | England | £153.48 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Tower Hamlets | England | £33 | 7 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| London Borough of Waltham Forest | England | £155 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| London Borough of Wandsworth | England | £37.60 | 14 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Luton Borough Council | England | £72 | 28 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Manchester City Council | England | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Medway Council | England | £73 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council | Wales | £45.41 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Middlesbrough Council | England | £22.40 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Midlothian Council | Scotland | £65 | not stated | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| Milton Keynes City Council | England | £70 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Monmouthshire County Council | Wales | £108 | 28 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Moray Council | Scotland | £71 | 7 days | Skip company only | 2025/26 |
| Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council | Wales | £59 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Newcastle City Council | England | £40 | 28 days | Hirer or company | not stated |
| Newport City Council | Wales | not published | not stated | Skip company only | not stated |
| Norfolk County Council | England | £55.94 | 28 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| North Ayrshire Council | Scotland | £74 | 28 days | Unknown | not stated |
| North East Lincolnshire Council | England | £26 | 7 days | Skip company only | 2023/24 |
| North Lanarkshire Council | Scotland | £143.33 | 28 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| North Lincolnshire Council | England | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| North Northamptonshire Council | England | £33 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| North Somerset Council | England | £86 | 28 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| North Tyneside Council | England | £15 | not stated | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| North Yorkshire Council | England | £91.42 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Northumberland County Council | England | £27 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Nottingham City Council | England | £50 | not stated | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Nottinghamshire County Council | England | £52 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Oldham Council | England | £47 | 28 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Orkney Islands Council | Scotland | £66.50 | 7 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Oxfordshire County Council | England | £125 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Pembrokeshire County Council | Wales | £64 | 30 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Perth and Kinross Council | Scotland | £40 | 7 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| Peterborough City Council | England | £65 | not stated | Skip company only | not stated |
| Plymouth City Council | England | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Portsmouth City Council | England | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Powys County Council | Wales | £70 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Reading Borough Council | England | £99.50 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council | England | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Renfrewshire Council | Scotland | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council | Wales | £41.60 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Rochdale Borough Council | England | not published | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council | England | £28 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Royal Borough of Greenwich | England | £114 | 30 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea | England | £153 | 30 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames | England | £153.48 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead | England | £90 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Rutland County Council | England | £46 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
| Salford City Council | England | £20.76 | 28 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Sandwell Council | England | £48 | 10 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Scottish Borders Council | Scotland | £61 | 30 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Sefton Council | England | £23 | 7 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Sheffield City Council | England | £17 | 15 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Shetland Islands Council | Scotland | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Shropshire Council | England | £160 | not stated | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Slough Borough Council | England | not published | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Solihull Council | England | £89.50 | 30 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Somerset Council | England | £109 | 28 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| South Ayrshire Council | Scotland | £60.50 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| South Gloucestershire Council | England | £97.10 | not stated | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| South Lanarkshire Council | Scotland | £80.93 | 14 days | Unknown | not stated |
| South Tyneside Council | England | not published | not stated | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Southampton City Council | England | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Southend-on-Sea City Council | England | not published | 21 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| St Helens Borough Council | England | £26 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Staffordshire County Council | England | £42 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Stirling Council | Scotland | £39 | 7 days | Hirer or company | not stated |
| Stockport Council | England | £42.50 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council | England | £21 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Stoke-on-Trent City Council | England | £40 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Suffolk County Council | England | £95 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Sunderland City Council | England | £34 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2025/26 |
| Surrey County Council | England | £139 | 28 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Swansea Council (City and County of Swansea) | Wales | not published | not stated | Unknown | not stated |
| Swindon Borough Council | England | £95 | 21 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Tameside Council | England | £28 | 14 days | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Telford and Wrekin Council | England | £100 | not stated | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Thurrock Council | England | £100 | 7 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Torbay Council | England | £64.45 | 10 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Torfaen County Borough Council | Wales | £64 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Trafford Council | England | £49.35 | 28 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Vale of Glamorgan Council | Wales | £80 | 30 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Wakefield Council | England | £32.13 | 14 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Walsall Council | England | £12.40 | per day | Skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Warrington Borough Council | England | £25 | not stated | Hirer or company | not stated |
| Warwickshire County Council | England | £100 | not stated | Skip company only | not stated |
| West Berkshire Council | England | £129 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| West Dunbartonshire Council | Scotland | £60.10 | 7 days | Unknown | 2026/27 |
| West Lothian Council | Scotland | £109.21 | not stated | Skip company only | not stated |
| West Northamptonshire Council | England | £27 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| West Sussex County Council | England | £65 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Westminster City Council | England | £91 | 30 days | Hirer or company | 2026/27 |
| Westmorland and Furness Council | England | £44.70 | not stated | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Wigan Council | England | £58 | 28 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Wiltshire Council | England | £143.80 | 28 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Wirral Council | England | £53.25 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | 2026/27 |
| Wokingham Borough Council | England | £100 | 14 days | Registered skip company only | not stated |
| Worcestershire County Council | England | £45 | 7 days | Skip company only | not stated |
| Wrexham County Borough Council | Wales | £65 | 7 days | Unknown | not stated |
Do I need one?
Only when the skip stands on the road or pavement. On your own drive or land, no permit is needed. The council issuing it is the highway authority, which in two-tier areas is the county council rather than the district.
How this table was made
Each row comes from the council's own skip permit or fees page, linked from its name, read on 2 October 2026. Where the page did not state the year the fee applies to, the table says so. A council that publishes no fee shows "not published". Fees change each April, and a council can charge more for large skips, town centres, short notice or a skip placed without a permit. The skip firm normally applies and adds the fee to its price.
Do I need a skip permit? The full guide
Free to reuse with a link to this page. Spotted a fee that has changed? Tell us.